Santarossa Scholarship

Frank Santarossa Scholarship Fund

The Frank Santarossa Scholarship Fund provides financial assistance to players of the Greater Ontario Junior Hockey League (GOJHL) to assist them in furthering their education.

The Scholarship Fund was created in 1988 in memory of the late Frank Santarossa, a promising young player who played for the Kitchener Dutchmen and the Cambridge Winter Hawks in the mid-’80s. Santarossa lost his life in a tragic car accident in the winter of 1987.

Frank’s father Lino, along with a small group of friends, started the scholarship fund in Frank’s memory and in 26 years the Scholarship Fund has awarded over $80,000. The Scholarship was originally intended for players in the Midwestern Junior B League and later the Midwestern Conference of the GOJHL, however, 3 years ago the scholarship was made available to all teams in the GOJHL.

Depending on the number of applicants, up to 5 players are awarded the Frank Santarossa Scholarship each year, with each player receiving $1,000.

The Frank Santarossa Scholarship Fund relies on the GOJHL All-Star Game as its only fundraiser so it is important for GOJHL teams and fans to support this key event.


2023 Application Form

2023 GOJHL Frank Santarossa Scholarship Fund


Previous Recipients:


Jonathan Reinhart – Elmira Sugar Kings
Scott Florence – Leamington Flyers


Zac Coulter – Elmira Sugar Kings
Rob Kohli – Elmira Sugar Kings
Matthew Woods – Brantford 99ers


Mitchell Smith – Kitchener Dutchmen
Eric Cimino – Waterloo Siskins
Blaine Bechard – Leamington Flyers


Jordan Currie – Stratford Cullitons
Derek Todosichuk – London Nationals

Scott Mitchell – St. Thomas Stars
Christian Barnard – Cambridge Winter Hawks
Trevor Sauder – Stratford Cullitons

Sean Fennell – Waterloo Siskins
Brett McGuinness – Listowel Cyclones
Jesse Raymond – Stratford Cullitons
Mark Bell – Guelph Hurricanes
Christian Barnard – Cambridge Winter Hawks

Tanner Rutland – Brantford Golden Eagles
Colton Wolfe-Sabo – Elmira Sugar Kings
Jarred Parent – Elmira Sugar Kings
Scott Nagy – Waterloo Siskins
Tyler Bryson – St. Marys Lincolns

Ryan Clarke – Cambridge Winterhawks
Evan Groenestege – Stratford Cullitons
Jarred Parent – Elmira Sugar Kings
Jake Jefferies – Elmira Sugar Kings
Jeff Zippel – Elmira Sugar Kings

Brandon Haefling – Listowel Cyclones
Jordan Hardy – Kitchener Dutchman
Mark Hoffman – Waterloo Siskins
Daniel Mohle – Guelph Hurricanes
Kyle Roes – Stratford Cullitons

Adam Little – Owen Sound Greys
Matthew Beck – Guelph Hurricanes
Shayne McClure – Listowel Cyclones
Dan Rhame – Elmira Sugar Kings
Scott Vanbommel – Guelph Hurricanes

Shayne Andrews – Stratford Cullitons
Brent Freeman – Elmira Sugar Kings
Allan Lamont – Listowel Cyclones
Matthew Murray – Kitchener Dutchmen
Colin Way – Stratford Cullitons