GOJHL Announces Coaching Staff for MacPherson Challenge Tournament

The coaching staff has been determined for the 2023 MacPherson Challenge hosted by St. Andrew’s College in Aurora from January 27 to 29.

Dave Matsos, London Nationals – Head Coach

Matsos lives in St. Thomas and is in his second season with the Nationals. He played on the 1993 Memorial Cup champion Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds before a two-year run with the Western Mustangs. After stints as a player and coach in the American league and in the U.K., he joined the Windsor Spitfires as an assistant in 2010 and was an associate coach with Hamilton when it won an OHL title in 2018.

Dave Williams, Stratford Warriors – Associate Coach

Williams is in his seventh season as head coach of the Stratford Warriors. Prior to joining the team, Dave was the head coach of the Kitchener Dutchmen for the 2013-2014 season. The Dutchmen finished the season in first place and tied the league record for most consecutive wins at 25 games.

Mike McIlveen, Kitchener Waterloo Siskins – Assistant Coach

Mike brings the Siskins an extensive hockey background as a player and a coach. He was an assistant and video coach for the Siskins for three seasons. He was a Regional Ontario Scout for Neutral Zone Scouting Services and provided intelligence for the OHL Draft and NCAA D1 and D3 coaches. Mike played in the GOJHL with the Cambridge Winterhawks and Orangeville Crushers and professionally with the Columbus Cottonmouths of the Southern Professional Hockey League.

Nic Passero, Fort Erie Meteors – Assistant Coach

Nic is in his third season as head coach with his hometown Meteors after playing five seasons for the team. He would finish his junior career with the London Nationals in 2014 before moving on to a successful four years with the NCAA Division III Westfield State University in Massachusetts.

“On behalf of the GOJHL, we appreciate the teams above for allowing them to participate in this marquee event and represent the GOJHL. Our players will be in great hands,” says league commissioner Brent Garbutt.