Announcing the 2021-22 GOJHL Golden Horseshoe Conference Awards

Golden Horseshoe Award

April 30th, 2022 – The Greater Ontario Junior Hockey League (GOJHL) today recognizes the Golden Horseshoe Conference major award winners for the 2021-22 regular season.

The Rob Judge Memorial Award for Most Regular Season Goals goes to Dylan Abbamont of the Hamilton Kilty B’s. Abbamont netted a conference-best 36 goals in the 44 games he played in this season, 9 of those goals came as game-winning goals and two powerplay goals as well.

The Pat Murphy Memorial Award as Top Regular Season Scorer is Ethan Doyle from the Caledonia Corvairs. Doyle posted 79 points on the season including 33 goals & 46 assists for the Corvairs. The Whitby, ON native netted 8 game-winners this year along with 5 powerplay goals and 4 shorthanded goals.

The F.G. Tony Bloomfield Award for the goaltending combo with the lowest GAA goes to Andrew MacLean & Josh Johnson of the St. Catharines Falcons. Maclean lead the way with 27 wins in 34 games played this season while posting a 1.45 GAA this season and Johnson posted a 9-3 record this season with a 2.11 GAA.

The J.P. Thomas Memorial Award as Most Improved Player is Dylan Abbamont from the Hamilton Kilty B’s. Abbamont went from 15 points in 2019-20 in a split season between Fort Erie & St. Catharines to a 75 point total this season for the Kilty B’s. The Burlington native delivered scoring equally with a points split of 36 goals & 39 assists this season.

The Cecil Jones Memorial Award as Most Gentlemanly Player goes to Matthew Riva of the Niagara Falls Canucks. While Riva was an impact on the Canucks scoresheet regularly with 33 goals & 36 assists, he only had 18 PIMs in 41 games played this season for Niagara Falls.

The Tom Kelly Memorial Award as Golden Horseshoe Coach of the Year is Nik Passero from the Fort Erie Meteors. Passero led the Meteors to one of their most successful seasons in recent memory for the Meteors as they were 4th in the Golden Horseshoe with 53 points from a 31-13-2-2 record this year.

The Brent Rubel Memorial Award as Rookie of the Year is Conner Thomson-Dick from the Welland Jr. Canadians.  The ’04 birthday defenceman led Welland in points as a defenceman. He lit the lamp 10 times in the goal column and added 31 points this season. He was a threat on the powerplay as he had 17 assists on the man advantage.

The Dave Dunham Award as Most Valuable Defenceman goes to Jonah Boria of the St. Catharines Falcons. Boria was the top-scoring defenceman for the Falcons with 12 goals and 26 assists this season while adding 4 game-winners on the campaign and kept his game well within the rules as he only had 4 PIMs this year.

The Cpl. Tyler Crooks Memorial Award as Player of the Year goes to Jordan Tutt of the Pelham Panthers. A leader in the Pelham dressing room, Tutt is also a great contributor to many community initiatives. On the ice, Tutt had 5 goals and 10 assists this season for the Panthers.

The Russell Masterson Memorial Award as Golden Horseshoe MVP is Andrew MacLean of the St. Catharines Falcons. The Falcons leading netminder was a brick wall all year long as he posted a conference-best 1.45 GAA this season with a .943 save % and added 10 shutouts. MacLean saw the ice a lot this year playing 2023 minutes and only allowed 49 goals past him.

Congratulations to all award winners this season.

For more information, visit



The Greater Ontario Junior Hockey League is a Canadian junior ice hockey league based in Southern Ontario, Canada. The league is sanctioned by the Ontario Hockey Association, Ontario Hockey Federation, and Hockey Canada.



Instagram: @gojhl

Facebook: @GOJHLHockey

Twitter: @GOJHL